Uzbekistan becomes visa free for Brits and 44 other nationalities from February 1, 2019

From February 1, 2019 a visa will no longer be required for citizens of 45 new countries planning to visit Uzbekistan as a tourist for 30 days or less.

(c) Zenwort

On February 1, 2019, Uzbekistan will be the latest country in Central Asia to become visa free for tourists. Visitors from 45 countries — plus nine nationalities which already benefit from a visa waiver – will be able to stay in Uzbekistan for up to 30 days without having to apply and pay for a visa. This brings within easy reach the country‚Äôs UNESCO-listed Silk Road sites, its deserts, mountains, and rich cultural heritage.

The visa reform is the latest in a quick succession of changes designed to stimulate tourism growth in Uzbekistan. The country introduced an e-visa system in summer 2018, replacing the traditional paper visas. The e-visa system is also being extended to cover 76 countries which do not yet qualify for the visa waiver, but will still benefit from the convenient online service.

The list of citizens which can now enter Uzbekistan visa free include British and other EU nationals, plus Canadians, Australians, New Zealanders, and Swiss. The tourist board has published the list of new visa free countries here; countries which already have a visa waiver, or equivalent bilateral agreement, are here.

Do check your passport is on the list before you travel, and ensure it is valid for at least six months. If you have queries about entry requirements for Uzbekistan, contact the Embassy of Uzbekistan in London.

Read also: Discovering Uzbekistan: At the centre of the Silk Road

Discovering Uzbekistan: At the centre of the Silk Road